Texas X Riders

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Whipped by short ride  (Read 752 times)

tom cat

• Texas X Rider OverLord
Whipped by short ride
« on: October 22, 2008, 03:07:46 PM »

Yesterday was beautiful so I rode down to Hedley to check on my house there, just 75 miles to the east of here. I knew we had a front headed in from the north but decided to spend the night there anyway. It hit last night with wind and rain, as expected. I knew that I would be riding home in wind and rain. No big deal, I thought, been there done that since I started riding 40 years ago.
The wind was on average 40mph from the north, with gust of who knows, I was headed west. I was wearing a 3/4 helmet with a face shield and the gusts would hit from the side like I was getting punched by a boxer, my lips were flapping in the crosswind. There were times that I if I had boards instead of pegs they would have scrapped, going straight. When I hit the rain, the wind would let up a little so the rain was a good thing.
I know I have had harder rides before, but I was a much younger man then. I don't think a hot shower, and a stiff drink is going to work this time, after both, I feel like I have been beat with a baseball bat.
This getting old thing is crimping my style more than I thought it would.

Lucky

• Board
  • Elvis
  • Canyon Lake, TX
    • Facebook
Re: Whipped by short ride
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2008, 03:14:17 PM »

haven't been in winds quite that bad...but one time did have 30mph + cross winds that were hitting Wayne and I...and for part of it Wayne was riding Buck Rogers on my bike...it was a very new experience for me.  Been in rain that was pounding me so hard that I felt like needles were being driven into my arms, and that was with rain gear on.  It sucks for sure, but I will keep getting out there and enduring it.  Oh yeah, and that getting old chit sucks too.
"Lucky" Connie